28
Feb
10

Rest In Peace, My Love

Frank Joseph Asher

Born: 01/31/1953

Passed: 02/28/2010


I Will Love You Forever

My Teddy Bear

5 Responses to “Rest In Peace, My Love”


  1. 1 Shari
    February 28, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Oh Sweetie…. I wish I could hug you right now!!
    You’ve been so strong for so long… I hope you have a good cry now.
    He’s no longer suffering and in pain .. That is such a blessing.
    … and he was in the best of care, being with you.

    I will be thinking about you Patty.

    Much love to you,

    Sis

  2. March 1, 2010 at 11:02 am

    I’m so sorry, Patty. I’ve been following your blog since my husband was diagnosed with RCC and similiar mets. You are such an inspiration to me.

    My heart breaks for you today.

  3. 3 karen in ottawa canada
    March 1, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    as an RCC patient, I want you to know how much I have appreciated you sharing your story with us. not only did you help your love on his journey, but you have helped many of us as well. i thank you for that and i wish you peace and good things as you continue on the next phase of your own journey through life.

  4. 4 Cyndee
    March 1, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Patty, I am so sorry for your loss. He was one of the good ones! I will always think of him having a smile on his face. Cyndee Weber

  5. 5 MDL
    March 1, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    My friend, I will miss you each day. No worries.


Leave a Reply

I Will Love Him Forever

The love of my life passed away peacefully on February 28, 2010. The fight he put up through this tough journey is truly commendable.

Though I am sad at his passing, I am so grateful for the time I had with him, our families and our friends. The memories of our times together will sustain me forever.

I think this quote, shared with me by a loving cousin, sums up how I feel.

"Don't cry because it's over. Smile because it happened." - Dr. Seuss

My Cancer Hat

I'm a person who hates wearing hats, both literally and figuratively. Now I will be wearing a caregivers cancer hat because my husband has cancer and I need to be strong for him. But I also need a place to vent, look for support and find strength.

Hopefully, this blog will enable me to deal with the process and meet others who are going through a similar challenge.

TB’s Cancer

TB, my husband (TB is his nickname), has kidney cancer, stage 4. He had a kidney and the tumor that was in it removed in 2005. We discovered in September 2008 that it had returned and has now metastasized to his bones, specifically his right femur plus spots on his skull, his spine and his ribs, the inside and outside of his lungs, his brain. He is not curable.

TB was originally participating in a clinical study that would provide him with a treatment that would halt, for an unknown length of time, the proteins from getting to the cancer cells. So in essence, slowing but not curing, the progression of the cancer. There is no question he will die from this, the unknown factor is the 'when' it will happen.

Unfortunately, TB had to be removed from the study as the metastases have grown. He was placed on a new regimen of Aerida and Sutent but that didn't work out. It made him too ill. Now he's on a daily regimen of Afinitor - "Plan C" as we call it. Basically, we're working to extend his life but in a manner that will allow him to still enjoy it and maintain his dignity.

1/27/2010 - At the suggestion of our oncologist, TB will no longer take any cancer medications as the benefits do not outweigh the possible negative side effects a new medication would have. He will be transferred soon to a facility where he can receive rehab, as he is extremely weak due to the pneumonia and inactivity. Our goal is to improve his quality of life as best we can.

2/21/2010 - Frank is now home, we've begun hospice care.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 7,901 hits

